Vicki

image

Dearest Vicki,

Everyone has those friends but who are not really close. Friends who you always feel kind of awkward and weird about asking for help, or you have to clarify you’ll do them some kind of favor in return. But you’re not one of those. You were and are always there for everything, no bargaining or explanations needed.

You touched my life and wouldn’t let go. You touched my heart with your unmatched kindness. You brought unimaginable joy and warmth to my life. You crack me up with laughter, especially when you’re trying to speak French. The Plus James and Mwe nze still make me laugh to no extents. Thank you for all the times when you spoke French and we laughed so hard.
Your influence is something I will carry with me for the rest of my life. I can’t think of many other people I’d actually take a bullet for.

You have been closest to me even when we were in separate stages of life. We all get distant to a certain degree when we make huge transitions but you didn’t let us get split by dumb facts like distance or time. You never gave up on our friendship, didn’t shrug and be like “Eh, things change, people change” and drift away vaguely because we’re victims of circumstance. Thank you for staying constant in a world full of change and chaos.

You took care of me in every way possible. You never got mad when I didn’t call you for weeks on end because I was too busy being someone’s girlfriend, but you were right there to pick up my heart-splinters when things predictably shattered. You are the glue that holds me together when I feel like I’m falling apart. You’ve gone through so much pain and still have time for me. Thank you for doing all the things a real best friend does. For being there when no one else was or wanted to be and when you didn’t even have to be. For being the anchor that keeps me grounded when life has a tendency to blow me away. Thank you for just being there when I need you.

I don’t know if many people in this world would understand, but to have a friend like you is like finding a silver heart in a bag of sand. One whom I can always count on. One whom shared silences are as comfortable as the glorious moments of laughter. One who is at most times the most selfless, compassionate I’ve ever known. Indeed, you’re Murungi.

It’s hard to put it into words just how much you mean to me, because it’s beyond what words express. I’m grateful for whatever brought us together.
With you by my side the world is a better place. The sun shines a little bit brighter, my smile grows a little bit wider, and in that moment, my problems are no more.

True friendship is a promise made in the heart – silent, unwritten, unbreakable by distance, and unchangeable by time.

A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY Murungi.

Leave a Reply

