What If I Stopped Wanting To Put On Weight?

Ever met someone and the first thing they say to you is that demeaning thing you dread to hear? They see me and the first thing they say is “Angela, you have grown so thin!” Some don’t even hesitate to ask “What happened?” As if that is supposed to make me happy?! Phooeyy!

I’ve been trying everything to put on weight. Some of my friends think I don’t eat ─ they think I starve myself to maintain the ‘mannequine’ figure! Oh boy!?

Few years back, I admired those women who had the ‘perfect’ body. I thought if I could just be like them, everything would be okay. As if they don’t struggle with weight and body issues. We all admire or envy those women who have that ‘perfect’ body. But have you ever stopped to think what they go through? We believe they’re so healthy and we are not. Some of the women, who although they look great, do not feel great about themselves. And they use unhealthy means to stay looking that way because they’re so afraid of what will happen if they gain/lose weight.

Social comparison is the thief of happiness. You could spend a lifetime worrying about what others have, but it wouldn’t get you anything. So, I’m done trying and trying to put on weight (hari hasigaye kurya ibinini by’ingurube!) MINE, I’m sorry I ain’t partying ways with my chinese butt! Sinon, achete-moi des chiffons!

Being beautiful is more than how many people you can get to look at you, or how others perceive you at a single glance. It’s about what you live for. It’s about what defines you. It’s about the depth of your heart, and what makes you unique. It’s about being who you are and living out your life honestly. It’s about those little quirks that make you, you.

Women with the so-called perfect bodies aren’t immune to the problems the rest of us deal with. They are unhappy, lonely, have trouble with their boyfriends/spouses, are in debt, have low self-esteem, hate their jobs, are in unhealthy relationships…the list goes on and on. Everyone is battling their own demons.

Perfect body doesn’t equal happiness.

Self-love and self-acceptance do.

I’m happy because I love who I am. I love my flaws. I love my imperfections. They make me “me.” And “me” is pretty amazing.

HAPPY NEW 2015!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

